the wild ones

Naive is what they call us, and by “they” I mean the rest of society, and by “us” I mean the younger generation. It is assumed that we will conform to the way the world works; and how dare we ever desire to change it. So maybe naive isn’t the best word to use when describing the future rulers of the world. We just see through a different pair of Warby Parkers.

Wild? Possibly. Too wild? Never. The Now generation is split into two distinctive categories, and leaves no room for middle ground. There are the world changers who are radical, dreamers, impulsive, risky, and yes … wild. Then there are the world waiters who are safe, practical, methodical, molded, and the majority. Society is dominated by the thoughts and ideas of the world waiters, so I’ve decided to contribute some text focusing on the world changers (aka the wild ones).

Although Steve Jobs is not considered to be in my generation, he is one of the wildest ones that has ever been, and probably will ever be.

The world changers are nothing short of phenomenal when you get the opportunity to speak with them. I’ve found that what distinguishes them from the others is not their intelligence, nor their talents, but rather the charisma and the aura that they give off. It has nothing to do with their resumé or their transcript, yet it has everything to do with their cognizance of the world.

Bricks get thrown at us by the world, but we are the ones that build the walls that block us from achieving the ambitions which we dream about.

It is possible for world waiters to become world changers, but once the switch is made, very few world changers ever switch back. The wild ones have some sort of undefinable intense desire to be great. Greatness is defined in distinctive ways, and thank goodness for that! The world defines “greatness” as measurable success, but to exceptional individuals they dare to interpret the term uniquely. Their unorthodox interpretations do not stop there, rather they interpret life completely unique from “the mob”.

Everyone wants to be able to say, “Oh yeah, I am definitely a world changer,” but the truth is, very few people are. Heck. I would love to say that I am a world changer, yet I struggle with this concept every single day of my life. If I were to be completely honest, I’d say I am sort of a … world changer in training. Being a world changer is not something one is born with, but instead it is something one works at to achieve. I have to consciously remind myself that the easy way out of situations is not the way I want to take. I must be okay with taking risks and failing, because the world’s definition of failure is not my definition of failure. I must be okay with initiating action instead of waiting for orders from another person. I must be okay with being a little wild.

Here is a very incomplete list of wild ones (as I define the term), that reside in every stage of life:

Spencer Tweedy

Joshua Fields Millburn & Ryan Nicodemus

Larry Page & Sergey Brin

Malala Yousafzai

Charalampos Ioannou

Zhang Jingna

Scott Harrison

 
11
Kudos
 
11
Kudos

Now read this

?

So many days I wake up from a dream and experience a short period of time where I don’t know if I am conscious or unconscious. This is a weird, hazy moment for me but I don’t only feel it at 6:00am every morning. No. I feel it multiple... Continue →